Walter's Walk

'Walter's Walk' is a 1982 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded at Stargroves, Berkshire, England on 15 May 1972, and mixed at Sol Studio, Cookham, Berkshire, in January 1982. It appeared as the fourth track on Led Zeppelin's 1982 album Coda, released on 19 November 1982. 'Walter's Walk' is a high energy boogie rock song with a dense guitar riff, initially intended for release on the 1973 album Houses of the Holy.


'Walter's Walk' was composed,rehearsed and recorded during the early sessions for the Houses of the Holy album. At that stage it was a basic mix with guide vocals by singer Robert Plant, and recorded at a faster speed than the final track appearing on the album Coda. Producer Jimmy Page later canned the song, and revisited it when the band met to discuss what songs should be included on the final contractual album in mid-1981. Plant's vocals on the song appear somewhat different in delivery than the other tracks on the Houses of the Holy album, which may suggest Plant had re-recorded an unconfirmed new vocal track in January 1981 during the Coda mixing sessions at Sol Studio.

Live performances

'Walter's Walk' was never performed live in its entirety by Led Zeppelin. Snippets of the song were used as part of the 'Dazed and Confused' medley during the 1972 and 1973 tours, alongside 'The Crunge'. An LA Forum performance of this medley, with alternate lyrics, can be found on the 2003 Led Zeppelin DVD.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Eddie Kramer – engineer
  • Stuart Epps – engineer, mixing
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.