Trampled Under Foot

'Trampled Under Foot' is a 1975 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and John Paul Jones, and recorded at Headley Grange, Hampshire, England in January 1974, and mixed at Olympic Studios, London in October 1974. It appeared as the fifth track on Led Zeppelin's sixth album Physical Graffiti, released on 24 February 1975. 'Trampled Under Foot' was also issued as a promotional single in the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, France, the Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Mexico, El Salvador, and Japan. In the UK it was a limited edition release. It reached number 38 on the US Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, number 41 in Canada, and number 80 in Australia. 'Trampled Under Foot' is a funky rock track that evolved out of an extended studio jam. The song is about driving and motor cars, with lyrics that are full of innuendo and double entendres.


'Trampled Under Foot' originated out of a studio jam during the recording of the Houses of the Holy album. It was later reworked and expanded upon at Headley Grange in 1974, before recording. Keyboardist John Paul Jones used a Hohner Clavinet D6 for the stomping keyboard rhythms and solo. Played live, the song was a showcase for Jones keyboard skills. Guitarist Jimmy Page used his Gibson Les Paul Standard with effects such as wah-wah and, as producer, utilized backwards echo on the recording. Singer Robert Plant's lyrics were inspired by car parts as various metaphors - 'pump your gas,' 'rev all night,' etc. In the UK, a limited edition commemorative single was issued for Led Zeppelin Earls Court shows. Covered by a number of artists, the song would also be later sampled in dance remixes.

Live performances

'Trampled Under Foot' was performed at every concert from its debut in 1975 to the final shows in 1980 in Europe. 'Gallows Pole' would sometimes be thrown in as a medley within the song. During the 1977 tour of North America, it was performed as an encore. Plant solo played it on his 1988 Now and Zen tour, and it was revived for the Page and Plant tour of 1998. John Paul Jones performed it on his 1999 tour.


  • Melody Maker - 'Best Song of the Year' (1975) 2
  • Radio Caroline - 'Top 500 Tracks' (1999) 398
  • DigitalDreamDoor - 'The 100 Greatest Recordings From 1975' (2007) 115

Chart positions

  • US Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart (1975) 38
  • US Cash Box Top 100 Singles Chart (1975) 28
  • US Record World 100 Top Pop Chart (1975) 39
  • Canadian RPM Top 100 Chart (1975) 41
  • Australian Kent Music Report Singles Chart (1975) 80

Formats and track listings

1975 7" single (US/Australia/El Salvador/New Zealand: Swan Song SS 70102, Austria/Germany: Swan Song SS K 19402, Brazil: Atlantic ATL 1-15-101-012, Canada: Swan Song SWS 70102, Chile: Atlantic 70102, France/the Netherlands: Swan Song SS 19402, Italy: Swan Song K 19402, Japan: Warner Pioneer P-1361A, Mexico: Swan Song G-1514, Portugal: Atlantic ATL NS 28162, South Africa: Swan Song SNS 100, Spain: Swan Song SS 45-1205)

  • A. 'Trampled Under Foot' (Jones, Page, Plant) 5.35
  • B. 'Black Country Woman' (Page, Plant) 4.24

1975 7" promo (UK: Swan Song SSK 19403)

  • A. 'Trampled Under Foot' (Jones, Page, Plant) 5.35
  • B. 'Black Country Woman' (Page, Plant) 4.24

1975 7" promo (Japan: Atlantic P-1361N)

  • A. 'Trampled Under Foot' (Jones, Page, Plant) 5.38
  • B. 'Black Country Woman' (Page, Plant) 4.24

1976 7" single (Japan: Atlantic P-108N)

  • A. 'Trampled Under Foot' (Jones, Page, Plant) 5.35
  • B. 'Black Country Woman' (Page, Plant) 4.24



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – Clavinet D6, bass pedals
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Ron Nevison - engineer
  • Keith Harwood – engineer, mixing
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.