Thank You (song)

'Thank You' is a 1969 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded at Morgan Studios, London in June 1969, and mixed at A & R Studios, New York, in August 1969. It appeared as the fourth track on Led Zeppelin's second album Led Zeppelin II, released on 22 October 1969. 'Thank You' is the first song singer Robert Plant wrote lyrics for and was credited with. It is a tribute to his wife Maureen Plant, and demonstrated his ability to pen his emotions and thoughts with immediacy. 'Thank You' is one of the most covered songs in the Led Zeppelin catalogue.


'Thank You' is a heartfelt song and movingly sung, very much different to the harder rocking material on the album. It features delicate guitar playing by guitarist Jimmy Page on a 12-string Rickenbacker acoustic, and an electric Vox 12-string. A highlight of the song is the extended organ work of keyboardist John Paul Jones. Jones often recorded with a Hammond C3, and it was a common instrument on many of their early tours. The organ parts are the main support during the verses. Jones' style here reflects his many years playing organ in church as a boy. The organ is restrained, with no vibrato or distortion, and avoids sounding like a blues or jazz instrument. A tape delay, which echoes the organ track in the opposing speaker, creates an echo effect that enhances the 'church' mood. The song was a favourite of both Page and Plant.

Live performances

On early tours, 'Thank You' was used to showcase Jones' organ playing, an regularly used as an encore from January 1970 up to the 1973 tours. A version appears on the BBC Sessions album released in 1997. Plant sung this song as part of the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert at Wembley Stadium in 1993. The song was revived for the Page and Plant MTV Unledded performance, as the opening track, and on the subsequent No Quarter tour in 1994, and the later 1995 and 1998 tours.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – Hammond C-3 organ, bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Andy Johns - engineer, mixing
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

External links

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.