Tea for One

'Tea for One' is a 1976 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded and mixed at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany in November 1975. It appeared as the seventh and final track on Led Zeppelin's seventh album Presence, released on 31 March 1976. 'Tea for One' is an epic slow blues song with lyrics by singer Robert Plant that deals with homesickness and loneliness during touring, with Plant recalling sitting alone in a New York hotel during the 1975 US concert tour drinking 'tea for one'.


'Tea for One' recalls an earlier laid back C minor blues song recorded in 1970 entitled 'Since I've Been Loving You', on Led Zeppelin III. Led Zeppelin had deliberately chosen to do a blues song to connect back to their early beginnings. The lyrics were penned at Malibu, California while the band were rehearsing material for a new album at SIR Studios in Hollywood. Singer Plant was missing his wife Maureen Plant (née Wilson), after their near fatal motor vehicle accident in August 1975, and enforced tax exile. It's begins with a flurry of notes by guitarist Jimmy Page in 9/4 before reclining to 6/8 time, with drummer John Bonham, who also suffered from homesickness, keeping time with his ride cymbal.

'Tea for One' was covered by Joe Bonamassa on his 2006 album You & Me, as well as being performed live by Chantel McGregor in 2008.

Live performances

'Tea for One' was never performed live in its entirety by Led Zeppelin although the guitar solo was incorporated in 'Since I've Been Loving You' for the band's 1977 North American tour. Page and Plant briefly revived the song for their 1995 United Kingdom tour and 1996 world tour.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - engineer, mixing
  • Jeremy Gee – tape engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.