Ozone Baby

'Ozone Baby' is a 1982 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded at Polar Studios, Stockholm, Sweden on 14 November 1978, and mixed at Sol Studio, Cookham, Berkshire, in January 1982. It appeared as the fifth track on Led Zeppelin's 1982 album Coda, released on 19 November 1982. 'Ozone Baby' is a up-tempo rock song with a strong bass line and harmonized vocals, initially intended for release on the 1979 album In Through the Out Door.


'Ozone Baby' was composed and recorded during the Polar Studio sessions in Sweden. It is one of the few songs that used a harmonizer in the studio which singer Robert Plant had introduced for his live vocals on the 1977 North American tour. The lyrics by Plant are apparently about a persistent woman who wouldn't leave the band alone. Guitarist Jimmy Page added a strident guitar riff but it was eventually decided to leave this song off from the In Through the Out Door album. At a band meeting in mid-1981, it was discussed to include this track on the band's final album Coda.

The song is unintentionally name dropped by Carl Showalter in the 1996 film Fargo. It is also the recurring name of an artificial species in author Lance Olsen's series of science fiction novels.

Live performances

'Ozone Baby' was never performed live by Led Zeppelin. Sections of the song riff were developed earlier in the 1975 North American live performances of 'Dazed and Confused'.

Chart positions

Song (Airplay)

  • US Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks Chart (1982) 14



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Leif Mases - engineer, mixing
  • Lennart Ostlund - assistant engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.