Nobody's Fault but Mine

'Nobody's Fault but Mine' is a 1976 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded and mixed at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany in November 1975. It appeared as the fourth track on Led Zeppelin's seventh album Presence, released on 31 March 1976. 'Nobody's Fault but Mine' is an epic blues rock track, featuring interplay between all the band members and a harmonica solo by singer Robert Plant. The song itself has influences by a traditional gospel song entitled 'It's Nobody's Fault but Mine'.


'Nobody's Fault but Mine' was composed at Malibu, California during Led Zeppelin's enforced lay-off from touring due to a motor vehicle accident involving Plant and his family in August 1975. The choice of this song reflected Plant's introspective personal circumstances at the time. The tight unison between guitarist Jimmy Page and the rhythm section of bassist John Paul Jones and drummer John Bonham, is enhanced by the stop-start ardent dynamics of the song. Page triple-tracked his guitars during the recording. The lyrics by Plant allude to giving in to pleasures, radically removed from the traditional gospel song about spiritual enlightenment.

The Led Zeppelin song has been covered by a number of artists including Dread Zeppelin and Kevin Coyne.

Live performances

'Nobody's Fault but Mine' debuted on the 1977 North American tour and appeared at every concert up to and including the 1980 Over Europe tour. The Knebworth performance was filmed and later appeared on the 2003 Led Zeppelin DVD. Plant revived the song for his 1988 and 1990 solo tours, and later with Page for the 1994 MTV Unledded special. It was also performed by Page and Plant on their 1995 and 1996 tours, and by Page with the Black Crowes in 1999. A version of the song appears on their 2000 album Live at the Greek. It was performed when Led Zeppelin reunited for the December 2007 Ahmet Ertegun charity concert at the O2 Arena in London, England.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals, harmonica
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - engineer, mixing
  • Jeremy Gee – tape engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.