Misty Mountain Hop

'Misty Mountain Hop' is a 1971 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and John Paul Jones, and recorded at Headley Grange, Hampshire, England in January 1971, and mixed at Olympic Studios, London in February 1971. It appeared as the fifth track on Led Zeppelin's fourth album Led Zeppelin IV, released on 8 November 1971. 'Misty Mountain Hop' is a hard rock song which showcases keyboardist John Paul Jones on Hohner electric piano, a memorable riff by guitarist Jimmy Page, and solid drumming from drummer John Bonham.


'Misty Mountain Hop' is a fast paced tune, enlivened by a stompy bass beat, with an odd metered phrasing and rhythm. The song developed at a session at Headley Grange, when guitarist Jimmy Page put together the opening riff sequence to which Jones then added the chorus chords, which came together quickly. Singer Robert Plant added dreamy lyrics which describe a hippy love-in which took place at a park in London, England, in the late 1960s which was broken up by the police. This may have been a reference to a hippy rally in Hyde Park, London in July 1968. Subsequently the hippies head for the Misty Mountains, a fictional range in the Middle Earth of J. R. R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. 'Misty Mountain Hop' became the B-side of the 'Black Dog' promotional single in North America and Australia.

Live performances

'Misty Mountain Hop' was performed live from the European tour of 1971 to the North American tour of 1973, often as part of 'Since I've Been Loving You'. Originally filmed for The Song Remains the Same motion picture, it was cut, but later re-included as part of the 2003 Led Zeppelin DVD. It made a brief reappearance at the Copenhagen and Knebworth shows in 1979. The song was performed by the band at the 2007 Ahmet Ertegun tribute concert at the O2 Arena in London, England. Plant has included the track on many of his solo tours, and Jimmy Page with the Black Crowes played the song on their 1999 tour, with the Japanese edition of their album Live at the Greek featuring 'Misty Mountain Hop' as a bonus track.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – Hohner Electra-Piano, bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Andy Johns - engineer, mixing
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.