Led Zeppelin IV

Led Zeppelin IV (also known as Four Symbols) is a 1971 album by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The album was recorded between December 1970 and August 1971, at Island Studios, London; Olympic Studios, London; Headley Grange, Hampshire, with the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, and Sunset Sound, Los Angeles. It was released by Atlantic Records on 8 November 1971 in the United States, and 12 November 1971 in the United Kingdom. Led Zeppelin IV is the conventional, but unsanctioned designation of the untitled fourth studio album by Led Zeppelin.

Led Zeppelin IV front cover

Track list

          Side one

  1. 'Black Dog' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones) - 4.57
  2. 'Rock and Roll' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, John Bonham) - 3.40
  3. 'The Battle of Evermore' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant) - 5.52
  4. 'Stairway to Heaven' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant) - 8.01

          Side two

  1. 'Misty Mountain Hop' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones) - 4.38
  2. 'Four Sticks' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant) - 4.46
  3. 'Going to California' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant) - 3.31
  4. 'When the Levee Breaks' (Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, John Bonham, Memphis Minnie) - 7.07



  • Jimmy Page – acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals, harmonica
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, mandolin, recorders
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion
  • Sandy Denny – vocals (on 'Battle of Evermore')


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Andy Johns - engineer, mixing
  • George Chkiantz – mixing
  • Richard Digby Smith - assistant engineer
  • Graphreaks – design coordinator
  • Barrington Colby MOM – inside illustration (The Hermit)
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.