In the Light

'In the Light' is a 1975 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and John Paul Jones, and recorded at Headley Grange, Hampshire, England in January 1974, and mixed at Olympic Studios, London in October 1974. It appeared as the seventh track on Led Zeppelin's sixth album Physical Graffiti, released on 24 February 1975. 'In the Light' is a synthesizer heavy song, featuring the drone-like keyboard work of John Paul Jones, and spiritual lyrics of singer Robert Plant. The working title for the track was 'In the Morning'.


'In the Light' developed out of an early demo 'In the Morning', recorded in late 1973, which had a more Gothic, keyboard introduction using a Hohner Clavinet D6, and different lyrics by Plant. Jones had been experimenting with an epic synthesizer piece at his home studio before bringing the basic song to the band. When Led Zeppelin returned to Headley Grange in January 1974, the song was reworked with guitarist Jimmy Page adding a violin-bow style drone, similar to the sound created by Middle Eastern musicians, to the introduction using an acoustic guitar. Jones then added EMS VCS3 with pitch bending to blend in the drone with the opening keyboard chords of the song. The song features a number of tempo changes, and guitar overdubs. Plant's lyrics explores Eastern mysticism, that he had previously visited with 'Kashmir'. 'In the Light' was named as Page's favourite song on Physical Graffiti.

Live performances

'In the Light' was never performed in full live. Plant was eager to include the song in the band's set list but Jones didn't believe the studio sound could be replicated satisfactorily. There has been rumours that the song was rehearsed for possible inclusion on the 1980's Part One tour, which was eventually cancelled. Plant solo included snippets of the song as the introduction to 'Nobody's Fault but Mine' on his 1988 Now and Zen tour. Page and Plant included parts of the song within the 'Whole Lotta Love' medley on their 1995 and 1996 tours, and later within 'How Many More Times' in 1998. Page recorded a version with the Black Crowes on the Live at the Greek album in 2000. Plant performed the entire song on his 2001 Strange Sensation tours.




  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – synthesizer, EMS VCS3, Clavinet D6, bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - engineer, mixing
  • Ron Nevison - engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.