In the Evening

'In the Evening' is a 1979 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and John Paul Jones, and recorded at Polar Studios, Stockholm, Sweden in November 1978, and mixed at Plumpton Studio, East Sussex, in December 1978. It appeared as the opening track on Led Zeppelin's 1979 album In Through the Out Door, released on 15 August 1979. 'In the Evening' is a progressive hard rock guitar epic, which evolved from guitarist Jimmy Page's earlier droning recordings with 'LA Drone', and 'In the Light'.


'In the Evening' was composed in the summer of 1978, with the riff developed at Page's home studio at Plumpton. The song's basic structure was then introduced to the rest of the band for rehearsals at Ezyhire Studios, in London, October 1978, from which keyboardist John Paul Jones and singer Robert Plant contributed greatly to the final make-up of the song. During the recording process Page used his violin bow to create an eerie but dramatic droning effect for the introduction. This was played on a 1964 Lake Placid blue Fender Stratocaster, with its whammy bar used for the 'diving' sounds. In addition Page introduced a new device called a Gizmotron, which increased the distortion of the guitar and added a 'slamming door' effect to the crunching solo. Jones added synthesizer backing. The lyrics by Plant talk about the fickleness of fortune, and the wind of fate. It is the antithesis of the earlier recording 'In the Light' (originally called 'In the Morning'), which describes spiritual discovery.

Live performances

'In the Evening' was first performed at the Copenhagen, Denmark warm-up concerts at the Falconer Theatre and the two Knebworth Festival shows. The performance on 4 August 1979 later appeared on the 2003 Led Zeppelin DVD. 'In the Evening' was also on the 1980 Over Europe set list and was rehearsed for the cancelled 1980/81 Part One tour. Plant revived the song for his 1988 Now and Zen solo tour, and it was played for the 1995 and 1996 Page and Plant tours, as well as Zagreb in 1998. Plant also performed the song for the 1992 Cropredy Festival with Fairport Convention.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, electronic effects, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – Yamaha GX-1, bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Leif Mases - engineer, mixing
  • Lennart Ostlund - assistant engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.