Hots On for Nowhere

'Hots On for Nowhere' is a 1976 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded and mixed at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany in November 1975. It appeared as the sixth track on Led Zeppelin's seventh album Presence, released on 31 March 1976. 'Hots On for Nowhere' is a hard rock song, with lyrics by singer Robert Plant which reflect his frustrations being confined to a wheelchair following his motor vehicle accident in August 1975.


'Hots On for Nowhere' lyrics was composed during the band's stay at Malibu, California while Plant was recuperating from his broken ankle. The rest of the song was quickly assembled at Musicland Studios in Germany, with the basis of the melody dating to the jam sessions at Headley Grange during the making of Physical Graffiti in 1974, and instrumental medley during the live performances of 'Dazed and Confused' in 1975. Out of these sessions came the then work-in-progress song 'Walter's Walk' which shares some riff similarities to 'Hots On for Nowhere'. Guitarist Jimmy Page used a 1960 Lake Placid blue Fender Stratocaster for the recording, which can be distinctly heard due to the use of its tremolo arm. Drummer John Bonham adds a half-time swing shuffle beat, with the stop-start rhythm section building tension within the song.

The song appeared in the 2001 skateboarding motion picture Dogtown and Z-Boys. It was covered by Van Halen during their early club days in California.

Live performances

'Hots On for Nowhere' was never performed live by Led Zeppelin. Page revived the song for the Black Crowes tour in 1999 and 2000.



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - engineer, mixing
  • Jeremy Gee – tape engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.