Darlene (song)

'Darlene' is a 1982 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, and John Bonham, and recorded at Polar Studios, Stockholm, Sweden on 16 November 1978, and mixed at Sol Studio, Cookham, Berkshire, in January 1982. It appeared as the sixth track on Led Zeppelin's 1982 album Coda, released on 19 November 1982. 'Darlene' is a rock and roll song, initially intended for release on the 1979 album In Through the Out Door.


'Darlene' was composed and recorded at the Polar Studios sessions, and is one of the few songs that is credited to all four Led Zeppelin band members. Drummer John Bonham puts in a swing groove to which guitarist Jimmy Page adds rockabilly inspired guitar licks, while keyboardist John Paul Jones plays straight boogie via the studios Steinway grand piano. The song fades out into a free-form jam. The back-to-basics rockabilly feel is very much an extension of the 1976 Presence direction the band were moving to. Around this time the Stray Cats, Shakin' Stevens, and Queen's 'Crazy Little Thing Called Love' were also becoming popular.

Live performances

'Darlene' was never performed live by Led Zeppelin.

Chart positions

Song (Airplay)

  • US Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks Chart (1982) 4



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – Steinway grand piano, bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Leif Mases - engineer, mixing
  • Lennart Ostlund - assistant engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.