Candy Store Rock

'Candy Store Rock' is a 1976 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, and Robert Plant, and recorded and mixed at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany in November 1975. It appeared as the fifth track on Led Zeppelin's seventh album Presence, released on 31 March 1976. 'Candy Store Rock' was also issued as a promotional single in the United States, Canada, Australia, Germany, Spain, Portugal, and Japan. It reached number 50 on the US Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. 'Candy Store Rock' is a rollicking Fifties inspired rock and roll song with lyrics influenced by American singer Elvis Presley.


'Candy Store Rock' was reportedly composed within one hour, during a recording session at Musicland Studios, in Munich, Germany. The urgency of putting together the song was due to the limited booking time Led Zeppelin had in finishing the album Presence. Guitarist Jimmy Page adds rockabilly reverb riffs in the style of Scotty Moore, while singer Robert Plant's vocals are treated retro echo style. Bassist John Paul Jones and drummer John Bonham are an effective rhythm section, with Bonham adding noticeable tympani to broaden the percussive beat. Plant has later said that 'Candy Store Rock' is one of his favourite songs from the album.

The song is mentioned in the 1978 novel by Dennis Bloodworth entitled Crosstalk.

Live performances

'Candy Store Rock' was never performed live in its entirety although the opening riff was toyed with during a medley performance at the Riverfront Colosseum in Cincinnati, Ohio, on 20 April 1977. Page and Plant revived the song, albeit briefly, by including an improvisation of the song into the opening of 'Black Dog', at Wembley Arena, London, on 26 July 1995. The song was finally performed in full by Page and Plant at the Montreux Festival on 7 July 2001.

Chart positions


  • US Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart (1976) 50

Formats and track listings

1976 7" single edition (US and Australia: Swan Song SS 70110, Canada: Swan Song SWS 70110, Germany: Swan Song SS K 19407, Japan: Warner-Pioneer P-35N, Portugal: Atlantic ATL NS 28176, Spain: Swan Song SS 45-1381)

  • A. 'Candy Store Rock' (Page, Plant) 4.07
  • B. 'Royal Orleans' (Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant) 2.58

1976 7" promo (United States: Swan Song SS 70110 PL)

  • A. 'Candy Store Rock' (Page, Plant) 4.07
  • B. 'Royal Orleans' (Bonham, Jones, Page, Plant) 2.58



  • Jimmy Page – electric guitar, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals
  • John Paul Jones – bass guitar
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - engineer, mixing
  • Jeremy Gee – tape engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.