Boogie with Stu

'Boogie with Stu' is a 1975 song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, John Bonham, Ian Stewart, Mrs Valens, and recorded at Headley Grange, Hampshire, England in January 1971, and mixed at Olympic Studios, London in October 1974. It appeared as the twelfth track on Led Zeppelin's sixth album Physical Graffiti, released on 24 February 1975. 'Boogie with Stu' is a blues rock song, the title of whom refers to Rolling Stones pianist and tour manager Ian 'Stu' Stewart, who jammed with Led Zeppelin at Headley Grange in 1971. The songs original working title was 'Sloppy Drunk'.


'Boogie with Stu' originated during a spontaneous blues jam in the key of A, by Led Zeppelin at Headley Grange with the Rolling Stones Ian Stewart, who visited Headley Grange for feedback and to check on the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio truck in early 1971. The band were at Headley Grange in the middle of recording the album Led Zeppelin IV. The band decided to credit Valens mother Concepcion, after they heard she was not financially well off. Stewart provided a playful barrelhouse honky-tonk piano performance, using the manor's piano. It has never been confirmed if Page played mandolin on this track or that it was bassist John Paul Jones instead. Page overdubbed an ARP guitar synthesizer to add a slapping acoustic guitar effect to the track. The audible foot stomping was also provided by Bonham. The song was held over until the release of the double album Physical Graffiti in 1975.

Live performances

'Boogie with Stu' was never performed in concert by Led Zeppelin.

Formats and track listings

1975 7" EP (Thailand: Atlantic FT 204)



  • Jimmy Page – acoustic guitar, mandolin, ARP synthesizer, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • Robert Plant – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • John Paul Jones – acoustic bass
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • Keith Harwood - mixing
  • Andy Johns - engineer
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.