Bonzo's Montreux

'Bonzo's Montreux' is a 1982 instrumental song by English rock band Led Zeppelin. The song was composed by John Bonham, and recorded at Mountain Studios, Montreux, Switzerland on 12 September 1976, and mixed at Sol Studio, Cookham, Berkshire, in January 1982. It appeared as the seventh track on Led Zeppelin's 1982 album Coda, released on 19 November 1982. 'Bonzo's Montreux' is a percussion instrumental which served as a showcase for drummer John Bonham's talents. It was an evolution of Bonham's original instrumental for Led Zeppelin entitled 'Pat's Delight', named after Bonham's wife, and later 'Moby Dick', which involved percussive audio effects, a gong, timpani, drumsticks, and using his hands on the drum kit itself.


'Bonzo's Montreux' was recorded in Montreux, Switzerland during Led Zeppelin's enforced tax break from the United Kingdom. Bonham wanted to update his percussive sound by adding electronic effects. Dubbed the John Bonham Drum Orchestra, he assembled together Ludwig tymps, toms, and snares, with producer Jimmy Page treating the sound with effects such as the use of a Harmonizer. The Harmonizer created a steel drum-like sound. 'Bonzo's Montreux' also appeared on the 1990 Led Zeppelin box set as a medley with 'Moby Dick'.

Canadian Olympic figure skater Kurt Browning used 'Bonzo's Montreux' as part of his short programme competition routine in 1993.

Live performances

'Bonzo's Montreux" was never performed live by Led Zeppelin.



  • Jimmy Page – electronic effects, producer, remastering, digital remastering
  • John Bonham - drums, percussion


  • Peter Grant – executive producer
  • John Timperly - engineer
  • Stuart Epps - engineer, mixing
  • Joe Sidore - original CD mastering engineer (mid-1980s)
  • George Marino - remastered CD engineer (1990)


  • Lewis, Dave (2012) Led Zeppelin: From a Whisper to a Scream. London: Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-1-78038-547-1 (OCLC 782996334).
  • Welch, Chris (2009) Led Zeppelin: The Stories Behind Every Led Zeppelin Song. London: Carlton Books. ISBN 978-1-84732-286-9 (OCLC 317254118).

© 2009 SoundHistoria.    All rights reserved.